At 10:59 am (BST) of September 12th my first son, Martino Zeno, was born at the Rosie Hospital in Cambridge. Although it feels like ages ago, only a month has actually gone by. Holding my own son in my arms a few minutes after he was born, still hurriedly wrapped in a few surgery cloths and stained with her mother’s blood triggered the strongest flow of emotions I’ve ever felt in my life.
Probably it was the relief after a labour started three days before, the rush to the surgery room after 24 hours spent at the hospital trying to have a normal and natural birth but when I finally had Martino in my arms and saw the look in Francesca’s eyes all the tiredness, worries and stress went away and I suddenly felt a rush of joy, happiness and, again, relief. Probably Martino felt the same way because he soon gave his very special welcome to the world by crapping all over me. Damn midwives, they didn’t put the nappy on! I am just kidding, no hard feelings at all, I was still wearing the scrubs they provided me to assist Francesca in the surgery room so no worries there.

The first month has been really intense because Francesca was completely exhausted and, on top of that, she developed a mastitis infection that made everything even more painful and tiring for her. Now things have finally started to improve, the infection has gone, Martino seems to have completely got rid of the antibiotics he was indirectly receiving from Francesca, and we can start enjoying the new adventure we enrolled in ten months ago.
Martino seems to be very similar to me in the sense that he’s not really a deep sleeper… he loves to take naps but they are never very long and they have to be in somebody’s arms. As soon as we try to put him down in his moses basket or cradle he wakes up and starts complaining. On the positive side, we found out that music has a very pacifying effect on him, he loves also to be talked to and to be taken outside in the garden. He’s also very strong and even if he’s only one month old, he can almost keep his head up and loves to push and kick a lot with his little legs. It is now half past eleven in the night and Martino is with Francesca’s mother (that came to visit for a few days) so I should really stop here and try to get some decent sleep.
Francesca holding Martino Zeno.

